School Management/Organisation

Scoil Mhuire is a Catholic School under the Patronage of the Catholic Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin Diocese.

The school is operated under the authority of the Patron and regulated by the guidelines of the Department of Education and Science.  At a local level the school is managed by a Board of Management.

The Board of Management (B.O.M) comprises of eight members as follows:

  • 2 Nominees of the patron.
  • 2 Nominees of the teaching staff – The principal and one other elected teacher.
  • 2 Elected members of the parents/guardians of the school.
  • 2 Nominees from the local community: Their nominees are co-opted on to the B.O.M by the other six members at the first meeting of the B.O.M.

The board of management serves for a term of four years and is the authority that manages the school on behalf of the patron.


The present B.O.M is comprised as follows:

Chairperson:                           Mr William Swayne (Patron’s Nominee)

Patron’s Nominee:                  Fr P. Byrne (P.P)

Elected Parents:                      Mrs Isobel McAuliffe

Mr Stephen Nolan

Teacher/Nominees:                Mrs Margaret Slevin (Principal)

Ms Eadaoin Doherty

Local Community                   Mrs Mairéad Rafter

Nominees:                               Mrs Bríd Finlay

The present B.O.M took office on 1st December 2023 and will serve until November 30th 2027.