Scoil Mhuire, Ballyroan road, Abbeyleix, Co Laois.

Go to content



Scoil Mhuire Abbeyleix

School Management/Organisation

School Mhuire is a Catholic School under the Patronage of the Catholic Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin Diocese.

The School is operated under the authority of the Patron and regulated by the guidelines of the Department of Education and Science.

At a local level the shool is managed by a Board of Management.

The Board of Management (B.O.M.) comprises of eight members as follows:
2: Nominees of the Patron.
2: Nominees of the Teaching Staff-The Principal and one other
elected Teacher.
2: Elected members of the Parents/Guardians of the School.
2: Nominees from the local community: Their nominees are
co-opted on to the B.O.M. by the other 6 members at the first
meeting of the B.O.M.
The board of management serves for a term of 4 years and is the authority that manages the school on behalf of the patron:

The present B.O.M. is comprised as follows:-

Chairperson: Mrs Fionn Bardon

Patron's Nominee: Mr Willie Swaine

Elected Parents: a) Mr Kieth McCann
b) Mrs Orla Maher

Teacher/Nominees: a) Mr Aidan McEvoy (Principal)
b) Mrs Cecile Walsh

Local Community Nominees: a) Fr John Cummins PP
b) Mr Tom Molumby

The present B.O.M. took office on 1/12/2015 and will serve until November 30th 2019

Home Page | School | Our work | Parents Association | Sport | Events | Archives | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu